Artful Green Dot

Additional Directions for this Blogger

Posted in META by Audrey Tran on March 24, 2009

What I am about to post has already been coming out in little ways on this blog, but it’s important enough to note formally in a post of its own.

While researching the visual nature of Environmentalism, I will also need to examine the role of political art in society.

I didn’t express this in my “About this Blog,” but blogs do evolve; they move; they grow.

This became apparent to me earlier tonight during a class with Prof. Ross Bleckner.

He directed me to a NY Times article by Ken Johnson, who took a pretty critical stance on the “devolution” of Shepard Fairey, who opened a new show this month in Boston.

The main idea of Johnson’s article, “Can a Rebel Stay a Rebel Without the Claws?” left me wondering  what political art can do in the long run. He does paint it as an art that shrivels and dies once the cause is up; once the art moves into the windows of Saks Fifth Ave.

Fairey’s work was “radical half a century ago,” according to Johnson, but  “now [it] [is] the stuff of college art history courses.”

I wonder now, in light of the efforts between  environmental concerns and the art world, if the “Eco Art”  today will be the kind of lasting art that is more profound than the text book fodder Johnson derides.

This’ll be one of my questions for both artists, Saya Wollfalk and Rico Gatson, who I plan to interview and write on during these next two weeks.

Like David Kennedy-Cutler, they are not what you would call Eco Artists, but unlike David, both Rico and Saya do view their work in the realm of political art.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] kindly took the time to talk with me about her artwork in conjunction with political art–a topic I’ve been pondering while looking at environmentalism.  The New York-born artist works in a variety of […]


Leave a Reply

